Back up regularly!

Hi,

yesterday my laptop decided to scare me. It thought that the entire episode was funny, but I did not. The computer decided to freeze on me. Obviously it happens from time to time, but this time was different. I restarted it and it froze again. Then I couldn’t go online or open my Word documents. My 2000 essay (1500 words I have written so far) had not been backed up anywhere else. Years ago my other laptop got the dreaded ‘blue screen of death’ and I almost lost all of my poetry and short stories. Luckily, after turning that laptop on and off over and over again, it finally came back on. My current laptop is working again too.

Just a reminder, especially for the writers out there, back up your work in as many different places as possible. On memory sticks, email the documents to yourself, etc. Just make sure that you do it!

You’ll probably say, “Yeah, I’ll do it later.” I said the same thing myself and things get in the way and it gets put off until it’s too late.

ZB

3 Comments

  1. Robert said,

    November 8, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Hey, glad you weren’t annoyed about the SpAm. Yes, please go over to the CompletelyNovel site and sign up for a beta code; it hasn’t officially launched yet but you can sign up or I could email you over a beta invite code. It would be great to see you there so everyone can check out your work. Have a good weekend.

    Rob

  2. November 17, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Guess what died on me today?

    Yup! My laptop. Luckily, I have my trusty USB stick. Otherwise, *I* would have dropped dead.

    Now, I will have to continue NaNo on this- our normal computer. Not as comfy for me- but least we have it. So things could be a lot worse.

    And yes, people- save, save, save!!!!

  3. Meg North said,

    November 23, 2008 at 12:49 am

    I’m so sorry about your work, fellow writer. 😦 My Toshiba laptop crashed on me five times in the two years I had it, so RIP all those wonderlicious Meg stories that could have been finished/published. I nicknamed it Toshiba Bastard. The $60 that I plunked down for a memory stick are worth their weight in gold! If my house was burning down, I’d grab my pug and the memory stick. SOS – Save Our Stories!


Leave a Reply

