My book is dead.

I’ve got 50+agents left to try but there’s no hope left inside me. None of them will take my horror story. Someone posted on this blog that the publishing world looks down on Horror, but this agent and a few others DO want it. They don’t want mine.

Yesterday I was on an agent’s blog and she’s so funny. I read the blogs on the first page and I had a smile on my face. My mind wandered and in my fantasy world where she’d accept my novel and then I’d be on my way.

Today she rejects me. All day I’ve felt it coming. I mean the feeling that I wanted to cry but I didn’t. Getting her rejection and then seeing how the email account messed up my submission made me cry. I probably sound like big baby, but I’m so sad right now and I’d appreciate words of encouragement.

Near the end of my list, I’ll try publishers directly and then I’m done with this book.

Zahra

6 Comments

  1. C. said,

    September 17, 2008 at 2:43 am

    Don’t execute your book just yet. Remember, these things take time. You sound like you hammered Angel’s Voices rather quickly, and you’re zooming through the next book. Maybe get a few more betas to look over your novels to help you find something unique about to help with the query letter. Your new query sounded good on AW.

    Markets are also fickle. Horror may not be popular now, but in a year or two, it maybe it’s the next Vampire Romance (a la Twilight).

    *hugs* But I understand how you feel about wanting to scrap a novel — I have 3 prior ones that will never see the light of day. I call them learning experiences. But in your case, keep tweaking your work and learning and maybe the next agent will disover your talent.

    And never underestimate the power of chocholate. =)

  2. Poppyflds said,

    September 17, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Oh dear, chin up girl. Horror: dead? Well that’s news to me! but it is a genre, and most genre markets are smaller than general fiction so there is an enormous amount of competition for fewer placements on agents’ lists. Also, from what I understand after a quick skim through your blog, this is your first novel, and agents are naturally wary of debut authors. Sorry, not much good news so far….but, the good news is you seem to have found your writing niche and you now have experience of submitting to agents and getting rejected. It is a lesson hard learned, but never forgotten, and it will give you a step up the ladder above those who are just starting their first novels. The majority of published authors have a few early novels locked away in their bottom drawers, but the important thing is they did not let that defeat them. They continued writing. They wrote for themselves, but also with one eye on publication – as it’s genre, there is often a formula to follow if you want to make it commercial enough to get onto the Agents’ lists, but also, if you read a lot of published books within your genre you’ll make yours different enough add an original element to the plot to distinguish it to everything else already on the bookshelves. At that point it will be good enough to interest an agent. Just look at Hannibal Lecter and Tom Ripley – not any old serial killers, but complex characters stuck in a web of psychological intrigue and suspense.
    Keep writing and you’re certain to get there, albeit at a steady and occassionally faltering walk, not a run.

  3. September 18, 2008 at 4:08 am

    Horror IS a tough sell, but there are agents who like it, and there are publishers you can try direct. Hey, with my last agent search, I kept being told my novel was “too bleak” for anyone to publish… but in the end, THREE agents all wanted to represent it. Okay, so my agent hasn’t actually sold the book yet, but she believes she will, so I believe she will. Keep hitting the page and best of luck! You can’t sell it if you’re not trying.

  4. leftywritey said,

    September 18, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Sending a big hug from here. One day you will have agents crying everywhere because they passed on your great book.

    Just keep doing what you’re doing — chugging onward. I have the same bad days, too, where I actually wish I was doing something else, but deep down I know that wouldn’t make me happy.

    In the end, the only person in the whole world who can say no to you, is you. As long as you keep writing, keep trying, you WILL reach your destination. And I’ll be sure to bring you balloons! : )

    Every obstacle is a challenge to dig deep and win. I know you can do it.

    Em

  5. Steve Feasey said,

    September 18, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Zahra,

    Stick with it. I had 47 rejections before I was taken up by an agent. You just need someone to ‘get you’ and it’ll all happen for you.

    Someone WILL love your book. Keep the faith…

    Steve

  6. September 19, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    hi sunset

    i think you sent your book out too soon; you sent it off as soon as you’d finished it – newly-written books need plenty of rest before being re-read then brought before fresh eyes for more reading. maybe you should do that now and throw yourself into a new project to sheer yourself up and stimulate your flagging optimism.

    it might be a good idea to set a date more than a month from now to sit down and re-read; i’m sure that with all that distance holes and mistakes and awkward paras will suddenly appear before your very eyes. you need to diatance yourself for this kind of editing head to settle on your shoulders. so don’t feel bad, thicken your skin and get tough. ask yourself the question, ‘Why didn’t the story grab them?’ are you starting in the right place? have you had enough critiques? is your writing tight enough? is your hook good enough?

    irene x


Leave a Reply

