Query revision for Angel’s Voice

I’ve sent out maybe 40 queries now and only received form rejections, no partials or fulls whatsoever. I’ve revised my query again and shortened it. I cut out a piece in the middle and finished with a better cliff-hanger ending. Apparently ‘evil’ protagonists are hard to sell so I’ve increased the pity factor for the main character. I also changed the title of my book from Addiction to Angel’s Voice. I’m sad to see Addiction go but it feels right.

Obviously I can’t go back in time and submit to those agents again but this is all a learning experience. Since I sent out my first query, things have changed so much. Tiny changes in the book have made me love it again and hopefully one day you’ll be able to read it too.

I’m stuck in rut on my next novel. It’s like I’m on the letter W and I’ve already mapped out Y and Z, but I can’t link them with X. I might skip over to Y and return to X when it comes to me.

I’ve also got an idea for a non-fiction book. I’ve researched the others out there that discuss the same topic, but they were all aimed at kids. I’m going to write it for adults. I’ve heard adults complain about it before so there is a market out there. How exciting!

Zahra

2 Comments

  1. Darcy said,

    September 13, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    You may follow them already but,

    Editorial Anonymous – http://editorialanonymous.blogspot.com/
    Query Shark – http://queryshark.blogspot.com/
    And the now retired Miss Snark – http://misssnark.blogspot.com/

    … all have some very good advice for writers about query letters. Good luck with your MS! 🙂

  2. leftywritey said,

    September 18, 2008 at 5:53 am

    I *love* the title, Angel’s Voice. Very evocative.

    It is very exciting, hooray for you! That’s the spirit! : )

    Em


Leave a Reply

