Lori said no…

I opened the email box today and saw the email from my dream agent. She said:

“Thanks, but not for me.” It didn’t hurt that much because I woke up in a bad mood anyway. I sent out another 8 and so far I’ve queried around 34 agents. I have another 60+ agents to go before I’ve exhausted the list of agents who only take email queries. After that I might consider the letter ones, but probably not because the postage will add up. Hopefully, if I reach the end of my list and still don’t have representation, my next book will be finished and I’ll be able to start querying for that one.

I don’t know how long it’ll take to write the next one. My last took 2 months but now I’ll have English essays, lectures, seminars, etc. Now I’ll be able to see what it’s like fitting in writing a novel with my everyday life. I have no classes/lectures on Friday off so I should be able to spend time on my book then.

Zahra

3 Comments

  1. NovelIdea said,

    September 12, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I was browsing the internet and came across your website. Nice layout, btw, grey on black is much easier on the eye.
    One thing that prompted me to comment was where you say it took you 2 months to write your first novel – I assume that is the one you are currently submitting around the agents. Are you sure you don’t mean 2 years? I am in awe if you really did the whole thing in two months!

  2. September 12, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    It took 2 months. I’ve only been volunteering for 5 of the weeks and that was all I did this summer, so I had lots of time on my hands. I guess I’m lucky because others have husbands/wives, kids, 9-5 jobs, etc.

    Did you mean that the red font is too much? I’ll see what it looks like with grey text.

  3. NovelIdea said,

    September 13, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    My eyesight isn’t very good, so the red text looks fuzzy to me, but I find the body of the text is easy to read. I assume it’s gray – might be white or light blue; again, that’ll be my poor eyesight.
    It might be an idea to change the red to a mid-blue colour – I can see the dolphins in the blue thumbnail very clearly – but please don’t change things on my account; I’m just passing through.


Leave a Reply

