The hardest thing you’ve dealt with?

I would say my weight loss. It teaches you to be patient, otherwise you rush and get nowhere fast. You also have to pretend you’ve got blinkers on and focus on just your own progress, which is really hard when you’re stuck and others are losing each week. Also, you have maintain self-control e.g. if you get tempted by some chocolate chip cookies, if you have to put it into perspective by asking yourself: What do you want the most? Success in your goals or a temporary pleasure that’ll last for seconds before regret looms its ugly head?

I would also say my social anxiety. My specific one is called SELECTIVE MUTISM and if you want to know more, I can link to a wikipedia article on it which describes it perfectly. It’s REALLY hard because 99% of people don’t seem to know about it, even though it’s more common than other conditions like Autism. It makes it extremely hard for me to speak to strangers, until days, months or years have gone by and I’ve had enough time to get used to them. Some people assume that you have attitude but others understand that you are nice, even though you rarely smile or laugh.

Bullies, loss of a loved one, redundancy or anything else you can think of.

So tell me, what’s the hardest thing you’ve ever had to deal with? Feel free to add more than one.

3 Comments

  1. Nik said,

    July 22, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Hello – I found you via writewords and thought I’d say hi.

    The most difficult thing I’ve had to deal with recently is an extremely painful foot. Long story.

    Nik.

  2. July 22, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Sorry to hear that! What have you been up? Death defying stunts or something a bit more boring. Are you gonna share or did you post it already on your blog?

  3. Nik said,

    July 23, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    All the gory details are on my blog, and I’m afraid it was nothing as exciting as stunts or the like – just a nasty infection. Still bloody hurt though!

    N x


Leave a Reply

