Let it flow…

After some good advice, I’m not going to aim for 80,000 words anymore. When I’m writing, I keep looking at the word count and getting frustrated when I see that that HUGE paragraph only amounts to 300 or so words. Like the person said, I’ll just the story as best I can and see what happens. One day hopefully an agent will be reading it, and if they tell me that it would sell better with more words, I will add more words.

I’m turning off the word count and enjoying the book again.

3 Comments

  1. Cliff Burns said,

    July 20, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    That’s the way to look at it, kid…

  2. felicepd said,

    July 20, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Sounds like wise advice. I get very caught up in word count when I have a project that needs to be a particular length. I end up spending way too much time checking word count — it fouls up my groove!

    Thanks for stopping by my site earlier today!

    And, good luck achieving your goals. I’ll be interested to watch your progress!

  3. Cattt said,

    July 21, 2008 at 12:35 am

    I personally don’t pay attention to word count. What I do pay attention to is the story and just getting the book completed. I count the words at the end.


Leave a Reply

