Good Things Come To Those Who Wait…

I was nearing the end of my first novel called Addictive, but I had only written 20,000 words! After a quick query in the WriteWords forum, it was confirmed that that is far too short. I was very disappointed at first, but now I am quite happy about it. I intend to increase the amount of description I use, instead of relying on the readers to flesh it out themselves, and I have included new parts in the story altogether. I feel that it will definitely be a better story with longer longer ending, which will hopefully allow the tension to escalate until the final death in the thriller takes place.

I am aiming to write 100,000 words and have so far reached only 26,000. It was a bit disheartening at first, but I have some general ideas about which parts of the story to remove and which parts could be drawn out for as long as possible. This time, going through the second draft of the first half, I am also taking care to ensure that the book is as realistic as possible e.g. the killer considers fingerprints, the trail that she leaves in her wake, etc. Hopefully there won’t be any plotholes, or too big a plothole that the readers, or one day agents and publishers, aren’t put off.

This will be a better book than it would have been before. I’m so glad that I found this WriteWords now, and all it took was a search engine query for “unsolicited mss” and there I was.

PS.I’m a very impatient person, so the thought of having to write for possibly six months or more made me want to die (okay, that’s an exaggeration!), but recently on the WriteWords forum an author called Lola Jaye, who blogged for almost a decade until her first book was published, taught me that good things come to those who wait. It is better to go at a smooth pace than to rush ahead and fail. It WILL (I hope!) happen for me one day. Not today and not tomorrow, but it WILL happen.

Dream Writer

4 Comments

  1. Cliff Burns said,

    July 19, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Short novels or novellas can also be successful–I refer you to George Saunders BRIEF AND FRIGHTENING REIGN OF PHIL. Don’t artificially plump up your novel for reasons of space–the padding will show and you’ll be inflicting a whole lot of unnecessary exposition on the reader. Don’t be so contrived as to aim for word counts; let the story develop naturally and take up only the amount of space it requires…

  2. lonelysealonelysky said,

    July 19, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Thanks for the good advice!

  3. Cattt said,

    July 21, 2008 at 12:37 am

    I dont do any re-writes until the end. Just keep on going and go back later or u will forever keep going back, going back, going back…..

  4. adaymo said,

    July 21, 2008 at 8:55 am

    it sounds like we have a lot in common! i have always writen poetry–i suppose because it is a short commitment–but also want to write novels. my poetry site is mostly just for me. haven’t submitted any for publication. thanks for checking out my blog. good luck with your novels:)


Leave a Reply

